menu

Film Studies

Academic menu

Lucy Bolton

Senior Lecturer in Film Studies
Room : Arts One 1.02
+44 (0)20 7882 8916
l.c.bolton@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : film philosophy, Iris Murdoch, Virginia Woolf, British philosophy and film, stardom, Hollywood, British cinema, feminist philosophy, women and film

Dr Jenny Chamarette

Senior Lecturer in Film Studies
Room : Arts One 1.30
+44 (0)20 7882 5632
j.chamarette@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : transcultural art cinema and artist's moving image, film-phenomenology, affect and embodiment, curatorial practice, intermediality, installation art, cultural institutions

Ashvin Immanuel Devasundaram

Lecturer in World Cinema
Room : Arts One 1.01A
+44 (0)20 7882 8291
a.devasundaram@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : world cinemas, film philosophy, South Asian studies, visual cultures, intercultural studies, globalisation and neo-liberalism, cultural theory, politics and irregular migration, postcolonial theory, subaltern studies, poststructuralism, postmodernism

Eugene Doyen

Lecturer in Film Practice
Room : Arts One 1.04
+44 (0)20 7882 8297
e.doyen@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : novel writing, scriptwriting, fiction filmmaking and documentary

Charles Drazin

Senior Lecturer in Film Studies
Room : Arts One 123
+44 (0)20 7882 2857
c.b.drazin@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Steven Eastwood

Reader in Film Practice, Convenor, MA Film Studies
Room : Room G23a
0207 882 2992
s.eastwood@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Artists’ moving image; fiction; documentary; screenwriting; film and ethics; film and autism; film and end of life; film-philosophy (Deleuze, Cavell, Levinas, Sobchack); live art and performance; surrealist ethnography; underground cinema; artists’ collec

Professor Peter William Evans

Emeritus Professor of Film Studies
p.w.evans@qmul.ac.uk

Janet Harbord

Research Lead (Film)
Room : Arts One 119A
+44 (0)20 7882 5910
j.p.harbord@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Film philosophy, Giorgio Agamben, media archaeology, materialist approaches to film, montage and repurposed film, film circulation

Sue Harris

Professor of Film Studies
Room : Arts One 129A
+44 (0)20 7882 8305
s.harris@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : contemporary French cinema, popular culture, stardom, production design.

Louis Jackson

Technical Supervisor (Film Studies)
Room : Arts One G20
+44 (0)20 7882 8309
l.jackson@qmul.ac.uk

Nick Jones

British Academy Postdoctoral Fellow
Room : Arts One Room 1.02A
nick.jones@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : stereoscopic 3D, spatial theory, Hollywood cinema, digital cinema

Alasdair King

Chair of Arts DEB (PGT).
Room : Arts One 208
+44 (0)20 7882 8311
a.king@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : film philosophy, political aesthetics, finance aesthetics, cinema and space, German cinema

Annette Kuhn

Emeritus Professor in Film Studies

Research interests : film history, cultural memory, object-relations psychoanalysis and film theory

Athena Mandis

Convenor in MA Documentary Practice
Room : Arts One 1.35
+44 (0)20 7882 8788
a.mandis@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Documentary, scriptwriting, producing, directing and participatory film

Dr Anat Pick

Senior Lecturer in Film Studies
Room : Arts One 1.41a
+44 (0)20 7882 8290
a.pick@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Early film; documentary; experimental cinema; the visual essay; critical animal studies; ecocinema; post-humanist theory; continental philosophy.

Libby Saxton

Senior Lecturer in Film Studies
Room : Arts One 104
+44 (0)20 7882 8328
e.a.saxton@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Ethics of film; continental philosophy; film, colonialism and the Holocaust; icons and miracles; European (particularly French) cinema since 1945

Pauline Small

Senior Lecturer in Film Studies
Room : Arts One 139
+44 (0)20 7882 8291
p.p.small@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Italian Star Studies

Guy Westwell

Chair of Department of Film Studies
Room : Arts One 1.43
+44 (0)20 7882 8337
g.r.westwell@qmul.ac.uk

Return to top